For the Love of {Instagram} Photography

by Molly Mahar

Instagram, as you may have heard by now, is a free photo sharing app for the iPhone, but to its users it is much more than that. Instagram has become a social media network all its own, that crosses international boundaries and brings people together through a mutual love of photography.

I joined instagram approximately five months ago, and have been hooked ever since. Those who don’t use Instagram may never understand the type of environment it produces, the type of relationships that are formed, and the beautiful filters that can be used to bring photos to life, like my personal favorite: Earlybird! It is so fun to see everyone’s unique photos, and to learn and improve my own photography.

I am featuring some of my favorite users in this post: @Sunrisegirl, @Virginiablue, @Adleyy, @Luminousgrey, and @Jeroenv. They are just five of my many favorites, but great examples of the type of work you can find on the app.

@Sunrisegirl, also known as Danielle, is an Instagramer from southern California, transplanted in Wisconsin and making the best of it. She not only takes beautiful photographs, but is someone who genuinely cares about others work, even though she has over five thousand followers. She is a fellow midwesterner, so I always look forward to her photos! Here are some of my personal favorites from Danielle’s collection.


@VirginiaBlue, otherwise known as Deb, says “If I was a song, I’d be a Moonlight Sonata.” Deb’s photos are simply stunning; Consistent, colorful, & beautiful! She typically uses the Toaster filter, and it works so well with her style of photography.

@LuminousGray is Miss Heather Pauline. Her bio states “I walk here and there, seeking wide open, flat spaces against a sky up high…” Her photos are serene and beautiful, and she deserves way more followers than she currently has because her work is amazing.

@Adleyy shares her “Cozy Photo Life Story” on Instagram, including beautiful photos of nature and life. She created a competition, the #Adley_challenge, which brings users together, discussing and sharing on a specific topic; my best friend animal challenge, nature, and more. I won her nature challenge! :)

@Jeroenv Verhulst is an IG’er from Holland. “A social worker, married and father of my sweet daughter Billie Kee. Photos made with dslr camera and iPhone 4. Enjoy my feed.” Not much else to say about Jeroen other than, you will LOVE his work. Here are a few samples.

Here are a few samples of work from my instagram, @MollyElizabethMahar:

If you have an iPhone, Instagram is the place to be and I would suggest getting the app asap! If you haven’t yet converted to an iPhone, you can check out Webstagram.com to see what is going on in the IG world. Thanks for reading.

One Comment to “For the Love of {Instagram} Photography”

  1. Outstanding post however I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this topic?
    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Bless you!

Leave a Reply

