A Designer’s Dream: The International Market Square

by Molly Mahar

Every time I would drive down I94 South in Minneapolis, I was mesmerized by the most beautiful building, The International Market Square. I always wondered what was inside, so I did my research. I found that my mystery building is a design center that hundreds of interior designers, among many other creative businesses, call home. This breath-taking building was built as a factory in the 1900’s, vacant for years after the factory shut down, then was eventually transformed into a beautiful hub for designers to work.

Finally, on a weekend trip to the downtown farmers market with my mom, our curiosity got the best of us, and we stopped in. I fell in LOVE instantly, as I looked up at the beautiful architecture and windows, was greeted by the most friendly staff, and as I opened the directory to find hundreds of unique designers and their showrooms.

We walked around for hours looking in all the showrooms (the ones we were allowed in without a trade professional), seeing everything from accessories, decor, architecture designs, flooring, and furnishings, to fabrics/textiles, lighting, kitchen/bath/outdoor designs, wall coverings, and more! Other than the showrooms, the IMS has a lot to offer… multiple restaurants, graphic design services, event and meeting areas, as well as beautiful modern lofts. After walking around we ate at D’amicos, and enjoyed a glass of wine. I cannot wait to go back!

I got some fun photos of the outside, but if you want to see more, go to www.IMSDesignCenter.com!

2 Comments to “A Designer’s Dream: The International Market Square”

  1. Good post again. I am looking forward for more updates=)

  2. I absolutely adore the one with flags.

Leave a Reply

